Muladhara: The Root Chakra


The chakras are spinning sources of energy consciousness within the body, located at places in the body that correspond with several central nerve bundles that branch out from the spinal cord. The word “chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit, and the chakras spin like wheels, some spinning fast and some slow. The chakras all correspondence with a different vibrant color, and each correspond with a different energetic function. When these chakras are in balance, the body, both physically and energetically, are in balance. When these chakras become out of balance, there are tell-tale signs that manifest both in our energetic body that build until they seep out into the physical body.

Anodea Judith sums up chakras so beautifully in her book Chakra Balancing, where she says “A chakra is a spinning vortex of activity created by the presence of consciousness within the physical body. These vortexes exist within what is called the subtle body- a hidden field of energy that carries your urges, emotions, and habits, as well as the imprints of all that has happened to you. As vital portals between the mind and body, the chakras can be thought of as chambers in the temple of the body that organize the elements of life force as it travels through you.”

Muladhara: The Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, or more accurately at the perineum, where its glows a bright, warm, glowing red. This is your anchor, your root, that transcends down into the earth where it grounds and stabilizes you. This chakra governs over the right to have and the right to be. It is the chakra of survival needs, money, body, home, work and finances. Its goal is self-preservation. You can have both deficiencies and excessive issues with the root chakra.

Excessive symptoms   

Heaviness, slow movements

Resistance to change

Overeating and obesity




Excessive Spending

Deficiency Symptoms

Fear, Anxiety

Resistance to structure



Disconnection to body


Difficulty Manifesting


Balanced Characteristics


Physical health

Self acceptance

Sense of safety and security


Right livelihood


Ability to be still

Mindfulness and Presence

  • Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
  • Meaning: root support
  • Location: Perineum
  • Element: Earth
  • Function: Survival, grounding
  • Inner State: Stillness, security, stability
  • Rights: Right to have and the right to be
  • Outer Manifestations: Solid
  • Glands: Adrenals
  • Color: Red
  • Sense: Smell
  • Food: Protein


If you have issues with the root chakra, there are many ways to help balance it:

  • Eat protein rich food
  • Spend time in nature
  • Budget your finances
  • Practice affirmations surrounding the right to be
  • Practice self love and self care
  • Exercise
  • Use crystals and stones that correspond with the root chakra (carnelian, garnet, jasper)


Focus on the right to be, and the right to have. Ask yourself  “Am I allowing room in my life to be as I am?” and “Am I allowing myself the right to have?” These questions are so simple but hold so much power in the answers. Do you think you’re good enough to have what you want to have? Think about that. Are you confident enough to show your right to be as you are? Do you feel safe in your space, your home, your environment? Do you feel safe and secure in your body?


Lay down, and breathe deeply in through the nose and out through the mouth. Imagine roots growing down from the base of the spine into the earth, growing deeper and deeper through the bedrock, the soil, down to the core of the earth. Imagine this glowing red light growing out of the pelvis, the spine, and slowly enveloping your body in it’s warmth. The red light is growing slowly around you, pulsating with it’s soft and secure vibrations. Breathe in it’s warmth, breathe in it’s stability, and exhale all that no longer serves you. Bask in this warm light, and when you’re ready to come back, allow this light to slowly recede back into the pelvis, back into the body, and then back down into the earth. Breathe slow and deep. 


One thought on “Muladhara: The Root Chakra

  1. Ganjagirl420lover says:

    Great post, clear and full of details. Hope they will be one post likd this for each chakras 😍 already wantint to read the next. Thanks namaste


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s